'Canary Girls' The Forgotten Heroines of Two World Wars

Fund Raising Events

Two women standing at a table with cakes, with a bright yellow banner saying, "Canary Girls."

Bake Sale

Saturday 29th May 2021

We raised £655 for our girls!

194198705_4297839343611426_5204453092518

Plant Sale

Sunday 6th June 2021

Radio Cumbria interview 

Friday 25th June 2021

Westmorland Show1.jpg

Westmorland Show

Wednesday 8th & Thursday 9th September 2021

Canary SPH presentation

Thursday 18th November 2021

This event raised more than £500 ...

Other speaker events have raised a further £200 and there are several other bookings in the diary.  

A coffee morning held locally added £377 in donations; which in total now stands at approximately £2500!

Wreath laying May 25 2022.jpg

Wreath laying

Wednesday 25th May 2022

Wreath laying news segment

Wednesday 25th May 2022

287320140_801767420803208_7637687846355403206_n.jpg

Newspaper page

Friday 27th May 2022

286987801_356477899922830_4062882039113239726_n.jpg

Speaker Engagement

Thursday 9th June 2022

IMG-20221116-WA0000.jpg

Wreath laying

Sunday 13th November 2022

We have reached our goal of £5000 from your kind donations!

We are now continuing to raise funds for the memorial itself.

Upcoming Events

Short Play entitled 'They Also Served' at the People's Hall Sedbergh Cumbria

3 performances: 2.30pm. 4.30pm and 6.30pm

Sunday 23rd October

Tickets will go on sale on Oct 1st form Sedbergh Information Centre. 

Sedbergh History Society at St Andrews Church at 7.30pm

Wednesday 9th November

Speaker engagement to the History Society at Burton-in-Kendal Cumbria at 7.30pm

Monday 21st November

2023

Speaker engagement to WI at Quernmore in Lancashire at 7.30pm

Tuesday 17th January 2023

Speaker engagement at South Lakes University of the third age (U3A)

Monday 23rd January 2023

Venue - T.B.C

Speaker event Barbon WI, Barbon Village Hall 7.30pm

Tuesday 7th February 2023

Wavertree (Liverpool) History Society

Via Zoom at 7.30pm

Wednesday 8th February 2023

 Carnforth Lancashire to the Towns Women's Guild at 2.30pm

Tuesday 14th February 2023

Speaker engagement to WI at Blackpool in Lancashire at 2.30pm

Thursday 13th April 2023

Glamorgan, Pontypridd Village Hall to Carnegie Girls at 7.30pm

Thursday 20th April 2023

Speaker event Grange Soroptimist, Carmel Village Hall at 7.30pm 

Tuesday 2nd May 2023

Thornley Hotel Grange-over-sands Cumbria. After dinner speaker at 8.pm

Monday 15th May 2023

Speaker engagemnt with Silverdale WI at 7.30pm

Thursday 1st June 2023

Venue - T.B.C

 Bainbridge Village Hall to Women's Institute at  7.30 pm

Thursday 15th June 2023

Speaker engagement Ladies NFU at Sedbergh village Hall at 7.30pm

Tuesday 19th September 2023

Speaker engagement to Silcroft WI

Wednesday 27th September 2023

Venue and time - T.B.C